Our Governors

Our Governors

School governors are people who want to make a positive contribution to children’s education. Governors are one of the largest volunteer forces in the country and have an important part to play in raising school standards.  As an Academy our Governors are know as the Local Academy Committee (LAC).

The role of the Local Academy Committee is absolutely key to the effectiveness of a school.  Time and time again Ofsted (the national inspection body for schools) has noted that the most effective schools demonstrate effective leadership and management – including by the governing body/ Local Academy Committee .

See below for a complete list of our Local Academy Committee:

Chair of Governors – Mrs. J Austen

Principal – Miss. J Nickolls

Parents – Mrs. S Winfindale and Mr. D Gaye

Local Authority – Mr. G Jones

Foundation – Fr. D Evans, Mrs. C Evans, Mrs. S Whitehouse

Staff – Mrs. A Markinson

This document linked below shows the make-up of the Local Academy Committee and attendance of its members at recent meetings.

Churchfield CE Primary Academy LAC Attendance July 2018

If you would like to email our Chair of Governors directly, please complete the form on the right.

Contact Chair of Governors

First Name
Last Name
Your message

What do governors do?

The governors’ role is not about fundraising, neither it is about cheerleading for the school – though governors might do both those things.  School governors provide strategic leadership and accountability in schools.

Governors appoint the Headteacher and are involved in the appointment of other staff.  It is governors who hold the main responsibility for finance in schools, and it is governors who work with the Headteacher to make the tough decisions about balancing resources.

Each individual governor is a member of the governing body, which is established in law as a corporate body.  Individual governors may not act independently of the rest of the governing body.  Decisions are the joint responsibility of the governing body.  At the beginning of each academic year, the  governors revise their code of conduct and this document is agreed to be followed by all members.

Click here to see the governors code of conduct.

The role of the governing body is a strategic one, its key functions are to:

  • set the aims and objectives for the school
  • set the policies for achieving those aims and objectives
  • set the targets for achieving those aims and objectives
  • monitor and evaluate the progress the school is making towards achievement of its aims and objectives
  • be a source of challenge and support to the Headteacher (a critical friend)

The Headteacher is responsible for the internal organisation, management and control of the school and the implementation of the strategic framework established by the governing body.

Under our new instrument of governance, the term of office for each types of governor is 4 years.

Additional information

  • Every governor has a term of office for 4 years.
  • All governors have to declare any interests during the first full governors meeting of the year.
  • Our latest Instrument of Governance is available on the Governor page of the school website.
  • Foundation governors are selected by the Lichfield Diocese.
  • Staff governors are voted in during a full governors meeting by the rest of the governing body.
  • Parent governors are voted in by the parents of the school.
  • Community governors are selected by the Local Authority
  • Governors can be co-opted by the governing body bases on their skill set.

Register of Interests

When a new governor is appointed, they are required to fill in a form for disclosure of any business pecuniary interests. At the beginning of each governing body meeting, governors are asked to declare if they have any interests in the topics being discussed which could effect their viewpoint.

© Copyright 2017 Churchfield CofE Primary Academy